Home » Breakfast » A Bundt-iful Breakfast Bake

A Bundt-iful Breakfast Bake

Breakfast Bundt Breakfast Bundt

I know, it’s like I press the “Lame” button and this stuff just rolls right off my tongue.  Naming my recipes is a bit difficult for me, but I am fairly successful at cooking, so I do try.  I want the name to sound as good as the finished product, and maybe make you laugh.  Or groan.  We don’t all have the same humor, I realize.  My humor often turns naughty, but that’s another story!

I saw a similar recipe online and wanted to make my own version of breakfast bake in a bundt pan.  I’ve made SO many kinds of baked egg dishes I should start a cookbook.  My favorite has to be the one with torn bits of croissant.  Or maybe the one with torn bits of rustic, crusty bread and spinach.  I totally love the ones that are made in muffin tins, large or regular sized, and frozen for easy breakfasts later.

With my new bundt pan I’ve had so much fun with cakes it was time to take it for a test run on a savory dish.  I’d use my regular egg bake recipe and simply make it in a round pan.  I mean the round kind with a hole in the center, the bundt pan.  I’d use the same ingredients and end up with a tube of eggy deliciousness.  I had plenty of ham to dice up and some spinach that needed to be used soon.  I set the chopped ham aside for now.

Wilt spinach in a drizzle of olive oil Wilt spinach in a drizzle of olive oil

In a large skillet I drizzled a little oil and wilted down the chopped spinach for a few minutes.  I added salt and pepper and a large pinch of garlic powder for seasoning.  After 3 or 4 minutes I set the spinach aside in a bowl.

Fry hash browns over medium high heat until crispy Fry hash browns over medium high heat until crispy

I returned the skillet to the heat and fried a couple cups of hash browns until they were crispy, about 6-7 minutes on medium high.  I wanted them to resemble a side order of hash browns, built right into the egg bake.  I set them aside to cool.

Spray or grease bundt pan well. Layer half of the bread cubes, followed by layers of ham, green onions and cheese Spray or grease bundt pan well. Layer half of the bread cubes, followed by layers of ham, green onions and cheese

I diced up most of one small loaf of white bread.  Sometimes I cut off the top crust, this time I didn’t.  I wanted a more rustic look to the eggy bundt cake.  After spraying my bundt pan maniacally with cooking spray, I layered half of the cubed bread into the pan.  On top of the bread I layered a heaping cup of ham, the spinach, green onions, and a cup of the cheese.  I used a mixture of cheddar and Swiss that I had on hand.

Spray or grease bundt pan well. Layer half of the bread cubes, followed by layers of ham, green onions and cheese Spray or grease bundt pan well. Layer half of the bread cubes, followed by layers of ham, green onions and cheese

I added layers of spinach and hash browns, then the remaining bread cubes,  Next up: making the egg custard.

Whisk together eggs, milk or cream, ground mustard, salt and pepper Whisk together eggs, milk or cream, ground mustard, salt and pepper

I had jumbo eggs on hand and used 8 of them along with 2 cups of milk and 1 cup of heavy cream.  I whisked them with some ground mustard, salt and pepper, then poured them over the contents of the bundt pan.

Pour egg mixture over bundt and allow to set for 30 minutes to soak up moisture Pour egg mixture over bundt and allow to set for 30 minutes to soak up moisture

I let the pan set for 30 minutes to allow the eggs to soak into the bread, then covered the bundts with cheese and slide them into the oven.  The recipe I’d read used 400 degree F for the cooking temperature and baked the egg dish for 40 minutes.  I tested it after 40 minutes by sticking a paring knife into the center to see if the cut stayed cut and if I could see any liquid.

Let set for 30 minutes, top with cheese and put into preheated oven. Let set for 30 minutes, top with cheese and put into preheated oven.

Since I had doubled the recipe and used two different sized bundt pans I had to test each separately.  Oddly enough they were done at the same time but one was slightly more golden brown and pretty.  That was probably due to having more cheese on the top.

Breakfast Bundt Breakfast Bundt

Of course it tasted amazingly good.  Eggs, ham and cheese are always on the top of our list for breakfast dishes.  Adding spinach to the flavors was just a bonus.

Breakfast Bundt Breakfast Bundt

This could be an adaptable dish, with sweet bell peppers or broccoli added to change it up.  Sausage or bacon in place of ham would also be excellent.  It was just fun to have it in a new shape, with the same rich flavors we’re used to.

Breakfast Bundt Breakfast Bundt

Breakfast bundts can also be made ahead and refrigerated, then baked the next morning.  I often bake an egg bake the night before and microwave it for future breakfasts.  Then you don’t need both eyes open to prepare your breakfast in the morning!  I can’t imagine bouncing out of bed to create this meal in the morning.  If you have morning energy, you go!  I don’t want to hear about it.

Bundt-iful Breakfast Bake

  • Servings: 10-12 servings
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 1 heaping cup ham; diced in 3/4″ cubes
  • 2 cups spinach; chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder or minced garlic
  • large pinch cayenne
  • 2 cups shredded hash browns (I used frozen)
  • 8 cups bread; diced in 3/4″ cubes
  • 1/4 cup green onions; chopped
  • 12 large eggs (I used 8 jumbo eggs)
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 2 cups shredded cheese (I used Swiss and cheddar)

Preheat oven to 400° F.  Spray bundt pan heavily with cooking spray or grease very well with shortening.

Sauté spinach in a drizzle of oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium high heat until wilted. Season with salt, pepper and minced or granulated garlic. Set aside for several minutes to cool.

In same skillet fry the hash browns in a drizzle of oil until lightly browned and beginning to crisp up. Salt and pepper to taste. Set aside to cool.

In the greased bundt pan layer half of the diced bread.  Layer diced ham, green onions, spinach, hash browns and one cup of shredded cheese.  Cover with remaining bread cubes.

In a bowl whisk the eggs, milk, cream, salt, pepper, ground mustard and cayenne until well mixed.  Pour over contents of bundt pan, making sure the top is thoroughly wet.  Press down lightly with your fingers to settle contents in the egg mixture.  Let stand on counter for 30 minutes to soak up the liquid.

Layer with final cup of cheese and bake in preheated oven for 40 minutes or until knife inserted in center shows eggs have set and are not runny.

Notes:

To remove from bundt pan: run a knife around the outside and inside edges. Place inverted plate on top of bundt. Flip.

Microwaves and freezes well.

You could use bacon or sausage instead of ham. Brown them and chop into smaller pieces before layering in bundt pan.

Spinach can be omitted. Add any vegetables you prefer: broccoli, diced bell peppers, shredded brussels sprouts, diced tomatoes, etc.

You could substitute gluten free bread cut into cubes if necessary.

Someone used my breakfast bake photo without my permission and posted it with a totally different recipe. I’ve never made this using cut up Pillsbury Grands, nor would I. You’re on your own if you make modifications like that.

Tiara Logo

136 thoughts on “A Bundt-iful Breakfast Bake

  1. Pingback: Bundt Pan Recipes For Breakfast - Bundt Cake Breakfast Recipe - (4.6/5) - Keyingredient

  2. Can u recommend a good buddy pan. I have an older woman won everything 6 to him sick of it. I want a new one that I actually can invert. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing Audrey I am working night shift and made this for my co-workers. I did not have potatoes or spinach so mine has bacon 2 kinds of cheese, hawaiian bread, yellow neck squash sauteed in bacon grease with jalapeno pepper and diced tomatoes. Love the of a bundt pan it’s deep and perfect for layering ! Looks beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I made this outstanding dish today. Rose beautifully in the oven, I flipped it twice so the browned side was up. The top half remained in the well sprayed bundt pan, I took my spatula and put the remaining portion on top of the part that came out, fitted perfectly like a puzzle. Waited for it to cool, I cut it into six very large portions, put in foil pans and froze them for future breakfasts. I can’t wait for overnight company, I will prepare it the night before, pop into the oven in the am, and voila! The presentation is beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it! Once in awhile mine also breaks in half. What I’ve learned to do is take a thin bladed knife and slide down the outside many times, all the way around. A grapefruit knife is great too if you have one.
      I have decided the break tends to happen when I haven’t let it set long enough after baking. It firms up and stays together better if you’re patient. Great idea to make ahead and freeze!

      Like

  5. I had made the Grans recipe before I saw yours. It was ok, but too bready for me. Can’t wait to try yours! It looks delicious, colorful, and healthy! Theirs wasn’t nearly as pretty as yours, either!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Bundt Cake Breakfast | allrecipes

Tell me your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.